Pearl Tea Experiment

 

I bought some cascade hops in bulk so I brewed an All Cascade Pale Ale.  Because I cannot leave well enough alone I pulled a gallon from the primary and added 5 Jasmine Dragon Pearls to it, instead of the cascade hops.

It came out amazing.

But then I wondered, did I hit 5 per gallon just right, or is there a better level.

So I brewed another batch of All Cascade Pale Ale and this time I put all 5 gallons into 1 gallon jugs for secondary.

I added 5,7,10 pearls to the first 3, 1/5 oz .Northern Brewer, and 1/5 oz. Northern Brewer + 1/5 oz. Cascade to the last two.

I bottled 2 weeks later, and then tasted at http://makerfaire.com/ in the Bay Area.  I had my Friend Toby plus 2 random people at the hotel pool help out.  Here are my notes:

 

Hops

# Bottles

Label

Maker Faire Tasting (5/22/2010)

5t

Darker, 6 12 oz, 1 big, FG 1008

APA 5T

nice detectable.  dent carb.  not as citrusy as before

7t

10 bottles no test

APA 7T

"not a grace note", les carb, more detectable, cleaner beer.

10t

10 bottles, 1008

APA 10T

10 no more jasmine, more pucker.

NB

7 12 oz, 1 big, carbed with 1.8 oz in 200 ml, 10 ml per bottle

APA NB

nb wow.  lots of celery or dull vegetable taste then citrus.  good aroma.

NB+C

6 12 oz, 1

APA N+C

mb+c smoother better balanced, harmonious

 

Over time the jasmine flavor has settled.   The 10t, a few months later ,was closer to where the 5 was a week after.  Oddly the NB+C has really come awake and is preferred over the all APA and NB only.

I then scaled up the recipe and brewed a batch and added 25 pearls as I left for a month’s trip.  This batch is in the keg.  Overall less jasmine, much more tannin.  I love tea, so it is a great after taste for me, but it might be a but much for other folks.  I would do it with 25 pearls again, but I would not leave it for  over a month on the tea.

One Response to Pearl Tea Experiment

  1. Pingback: Mark’s Birthday Series Labels #1, #2, #homebrew « Zot's Home Brew Experiments

Leave a Reply

