Mark’s Birthday Series Labels #1, #2

My friend’s Mark wife “commissioned” me to brew Mark some beer.  What I settled on was more of a challenge and I think more interesting for Mark:  Deliver a 6 pick of beer, every 2 weeks.   Payment was negotiated for cooking meals to deliver the beer to;  her cooking rocks, I totally win (as does the family).

If I manage the full year, that’ll be 26 different batches (unless I repeat; and I reserve the right to repeat).  Since’ I’ve been brewing, slightly over a year, I’ve done 20 batches.  So this will keep me on my toes Open-mouthed smile

To me part of the fun is coming up with a unique label for each batch.

To start with here are the first two batches:

The first was my 5 gal 25 Peal Tea APA :  The caption on his shirt was too cool not to use!

image

The second was a Nutcastle Brown (Newcastle clone):

(I actually mentally wrote this label before I wrote the first one, I was going to go with a Mr. Hanky Avatar, but I just did not have time and the pics I could find were a bit too graphic since kids would see this).

image

 

For folks wondering how I create the labels:

  1. Open Word, Build the label in approximate size you want, select all, right click->Group.  This makes 1 thing to copy.  Hit Ctrl->C.
  2. Pick Mailing->Labels.  Find a good label size for what you want.  I wanted 6 per sheet, so I chose Ace labels, 6-Up Sheet – Label 4 X 3 1/3. 
    1. For other beers I use a much smaller label (2n X 1in).  The bigger labels look cooler but bottles with embossed stuff, like New Belgium screw that up, thus the smaller labels.
  3. Paste into the label area.
  4. Select New Document
  5. A new document opens with a table with the label in it. 
  6. In reality all it did was create the table and margins for you, and repeat the image  I like to click on the table settings and turn on internal borders.
  7. Review the document.  I find I tweak it a lot to align the labels.
  8. Print
  9. Now I trim as much as I can, thus using the borders as guidelines.
  10. I dip the labels in milk, stick them to the bottle, and roll them against a paper towel.  The labels seem to stick as well, or better than commercial labels, but come clean easier.
  11. In general, print extra labels, you’ll need them.
  12. It’s still a good idea to label the bottle caps, as it makes it easier to spot beers in a tall carrier, or in a beer fridge.
Leave a Reply

